Tuesday, January 26, 2010

Ballina Jockey Club's Hall Of Fame

From the Sydney Morning Herald:
Three inaugural inductees into Ballina Jockey Club's Hall Of Fame will be announced today at the Iris Nielsen Ladies Invitation meeting.

Ballina CEO Sarah Wills said the trio were all former female riders.

The Iris Nielsen, in honour of the late rider who died in a race fall at Lismore in March 1988, continues to grow in stature.

With prizemoney lifted from $27,000 to $50,000, the line-up of riders includes Clare Lindop, the first Australian female jockey to ride in the Melbourne Cup and winner of the Victoria Derby aboard Rebel Raider, New Zealand's Sam Pratt, last season's leading stakes earner in her homeland, and prolific winner Kathy O'Hara.

No comments: